Project Portfolio

Three of these images above are my terra sigillata pieces (pinch pots). This was the first time I have ever used terra sigillata before and it was a technique that I found interesting to use. Through my 3 three years of ceramics, I have made many pinch pots and have developed my technique and skill of making them. I still need to work on thinner walls and smoothing the surface out better and that goes for most of my work. The terra sigillata adds a very nice glossy finish which I will definitely want to use again this school year or even next year. For my pinch pots I put on an extra piece like how one had a foot and two had a lid. I applied around 4-5 layers of the terra sigillata to make sure that it had the smooth, glossy finish that it’s supposed to have. But the last very important step was to smooth out the terra sigillata with plastic to get the final end result.

The top three images is my exposed coil piece. This is my second time creating and exposed coil vase but I can’t say that this was my favorite. I chose to leave the inside of the rolled up coils the way they were instead of smoothing them out. Some reasons for this was because the clay was very dry and I thought it looked more original that way. This time around, I was definitely better and more skilled at rolling coils which is something I used to struggle with quite heavily. This project was good practice for me because that is the main aspect of this piece. It was hard to smooth the coils to make them look more put together and the clay kept cracking as I tried to roll them up. After rolling them I attached them with a serrated edge scraper and a little bit of slip. It was definitely hard building this piece from the ground up but overall I like the way this piece came together.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *