Blog Post #8

In past projects, I chose to do artists plan for many reasons. One reason being that planning is one of the most important parts when creating a piece of art. My blog post #5 planning drastically changed; the branches for the tree coaster looked more like an actual tree. Maquettes are also an important part of planning because you get the feel for how the piece should be and look. Also researching before beginning the project gave me new ideas and help my art evolve just like in blog post #7.

Also something I would like to reflect on is artists take risks. I use to take the easier way out of projects because I was afraid of failing or not getting the result that I wanted. But in blog post #5, I took new risks that I was afraid to take. I was scared to attempt new intricate designs on clay because I knew it was going to be different then drawing on paper. In the end, the risks were worth it, and I was pleased with the end result.

4 Comments

  1. ally1sc21

    I like the organic form of your tree on the tile that you made. Does the tree represent anything? Maybe you could add some leaves to the tree before finishing it.

  2. mariana4sc20

    I like how the tree isn’t too big or too small, it is just the right size. I also like how the branches all go to different directions

    How did you come up with the idea of making a tree?

    I would add some leaves to it too

  3. jada4sc21

    I love how you decided to take the risk of trying something new, I personally think that that’s how artists grow in creating original artwork. I also admire the fact that you did a little research before staring the project and gaining help and new ideas along the way. Have you decided on the color pallet for the project? And maybe for the future projects try taking more risk to help you grow as an artist.

  4. olivia5sc19

    I like how the coaster is detailed and smooth. I like how you have detailed sketches and planning for your projects.
    How did you come up with the idea of a coaster and the design on it.
    Next time maybe try adding leaves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *