Blog Post #11

I really enjoyed most days working on the wheel and creating these unique pieces. In two of my pieces I had “happy” accidents which are maybe the two that I like the most and I was able to give one to my mom for Mothers Day! At first, I was afraid that I wasn’t going to like how the glazing was going to come out because I wasn’t sure if the colors that we used would look good for my work. The different glazes that I used were Tenmoku, Celadon, and Shino but I did not use the clear glaze. I think my favorite glaze was Celadon and I really like the combo of Celadon with Tenmoku. The bowl that has three different colors probably was my favorite glaze work because I really like how the Shino came out because to me it looks like two trees sprouting out to the top of the bowl. The way that I glazed these pieces was by dipping in certain parts at a time and waiting for it to dry. As I waited I glazed my other pieces to save time but the pieces dried fairly quickly. I tried my best to be as neat as I could while glazing and to not overlap the glazes unless I meant to do it on purpose and I think that I did a pretty good job at it. I really like the rustic look of all the pieces and am excited to decorate my room/house with them!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *